1. Call to order - *Chang*

A meeting of the IEEE Computer Society Executive Committee was held via teleconference on 17 August 2004 at 9:00 p.m. EST. Carl K. Chang, president, chaired, with Oscar N. Garcia as secretary.

2. Roll Call - Garcia

A. Franchised Members

Carl K. Chang, President, present Stephen L. Diamond, Past President, present Gerald L. Engel, President-elect, present Oscar N. Garcia, Secretary, present Lowell G. Johnson, First VP, Electronic Products & Services, present Rangachar Kasturi, Treasurer, present Richard A. Kemmerer, Second VP, Chapters, absent James W. Moore, VP, Standards Activities, present Christina M. Schober, VP, Conferences & Tutorials, present Murali R. Varanasi, VP, Educational Activities, present Michael R. Williams, VP, Publications, present Yervant Zorian, VP, Technical Activities, present

B. Ex officio Members (without vote):

Doris L. Carver, *Computer* EIC, present David W. Hennage, Executive Director, present Gene F. Hoffnagle, IEEE Division V Director, absent James D. Isaak, IEEE Division VIII Director, present

3. Introduction of Guests - *Chang*

The following guests and staff were present:

Angela R. Burgess Robert C. Care Desmona D. Harris Anne Marie Kelly Violet S. Doan Richard J. Price

ACTION ITEMS

4. Approval of Agenda - Garcia

Motion 4: Engel moved, Diamond seconded, "MOVED, that the agenda be approved as is." Motion carried.

5. Approval of 6 August 2004 Meeting Minutes – Garcia

Motion 5: Engel moved, Zorian seconded, "MOVED, that the minutes of the 6 August 2004 Executive Committee meeting be approved with the following corrections:" Motion carried by voice.

• Item 4 Engel moved and Diamond seconded

- Item 7 Delete the word "staff" from Motion 7
- Item 8 Next Executive Committee meeting is 1 November 2004

6. President's Report on the IT Review Committee (ITRC) Report – *Chang*

President Chang gave an introduction of the process of the ITRC report and of the purpose of the current meeting to suggest an action plan and to seek ExCom and BoG approval. The discussion of the ITRC report led to a proposal for the formation of an IT Oversight Committee (ITOC).

- Motion 5: Isaak moved, Kasturi seconded, "MOVED, that the Executive Committee of the IEEE Computer Society directs President Chang to form an IT Oversight Committee (ITOC) composed of five individuals, not all necessarily ExCom members, but all reporting to the ExCom." Motion carried with one abstention (Garcia recorded).
- Action: President Chang. Due: 4 Nov 2004. EC 08/17/04. 5. Form an IT Oversight Committee (ITOC) composed of five individuals, not all necessarily ExCom members, but all reporting to the ExCom. Status report due at the 4 November 2004 board meeting.

7. NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, 1 November 2004.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 10:40 pm EDT.